Something-driven development

Software development thoughts around Ubuntu, Python, Golang and other tools

More YUI and html5 fun

with 2 comments

Continuing on my YUI MVC experiment, I got to spend a bit of time last week playing with my prototype for Open Goal Tracker, and was blown away by the simplicity of two new html attributes: x-webkit-speech (just ‘speech’ when standardised) and contenteditable. Here’s a 2min video showing how I might use both of them in practise (in dire need of styling as usual):

 

 

Behind the scenes I’m still loving Yahoo User Interfaces application framework together with the unit-test api, which allow me to create tests like “creating the view should render stats for existing goals”.

Next week I hope to start implementing the server-sync and investigating integration with Ubuntu’s notification system. Once I’ve sorted out the application-cache and build/packaging etc. for both Ubuntu and Android, I want to do a initial dummy release and then start iterating the features that will make Open Goal Tracker actually useful for facilitating social-yet-individual learning, both within and without of classrooms.

You can play with the little open-goal-tracker prototype (I’ve only tried webkit so far) or run the tests yourself.

Written by Michael

November 29, 2011 at 11:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] UI issues (such as a touch interface, or just basic widget design). I can see now how ugly my previous play-prototype looked. Here’s a brief demo of the jQueryMobile version (sorry for the [...]

  2. [...] After doing similar experiments in other JS frameworks (see here and here), and being faced with the work of implementing all the server-sync, sockets, authentication etc. [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

