Something-driven development

Software development thoughts around Ubuntu, Python, Golang and other tools

My Ubuntu HTML5 App development environment

leave a comment »

After experimenting recently with the YUI 3.5.0 Application framework, I wanted to take a bit of time to see what other HTML5 app development setups were offering while answering the question: “How can I make HTML5 app development more fun on Ubuntu” – and perhaps bring some of this back to my YUI 3.5 setup.

I’m quite happy with the initial result – here’s a brief (3 minute) video overview highlighting:

  • Tests running not only in a browser but also automatically on file save without even a headless browser (with pretty Ubuntu notifications)
  • Modular code in separate files (including html templates, via requirejs and its plugins)

 

 

Things that I really like about this setup:

  • requirejs – YUI-like module definitions and dependency specification makes for very clear code. It’s an implementation of the Asynchronous Module Definition “standard” which allows me to require dependencies on my own terms, like this:
    require(["underscore", "backbone"], function(_, Backbone) {
        // In here the underscore and backbone modules are loaded and
        // assigned to _ and Backbone respectively.
    })

    There’s some indication that YUI may also implement AMD in its loader also. RequireJS also has a built in optimiser to combine and minify all your required JS during your build step. With two plugins for RequireJS I can also use CoffeeScript instead of Javascript, and load my separate HTML templates as resources into my modules (no more stuffing them all into your index.html.

  • mocha tests running on nodejs or in the browser – as shown in the above screencast. Once configured, this made it pretty trivial to add a `make watch` command to my project which runs tests automatically (using nodejs’ V8 engine) when files change, displaying the results using Ubuntu’s built-in notification system. (Mocha already has built in growl support for Mac users, it’d be great to get similar OSD notifications built in too).

The setup wasn’t without its difficulties [1], but the effort was worth it as now I have a fun environment to start building my dream app (we’ve all got one right?) and continue learning. I think it should also be possible for me to go back and re-create this nodejs dev environment using YUI also – which I’m keen to try if someone hasn’t already done something similar – or even possibly without needing nodejs? I think the challenge for YUI will be if and when most other modules can be loaded via AMD why, as an app developer, would I want to commit to one monolithic framework release when I can cleanly pick-n-chose the specific versions of small tightly-focused modules that I need (assuming my tests pass). Or perhaps YUI will join in and begin versioning modules (and module dependencies) rather than the one complete framework so that they were available via any AMD loader – that would rock!

Thanks to James Burke (author of RequireJS) and the brunch team for their help!

[1] For those interested, things that were difficult getting this setup were:

  • Many JS libraries are not yet AMD ready (or yet giving support), which means adding shims to load them correctly (or using the use plugin in some cases). And sometimes this gets complicated (as it did for me with expect.js). I don’t know if AMD will get widespread adoption, who knows? A result of this is that many JS libraries are designed to work within the browser or node only (ie. they assume that either window or module/exports will be available globally).
  • Using the coffeescript plugin is great for looking at the code, but the errors displayed when running tests that result from  coffeescript parse errors are often hard to decipher (although I could probably use an editor plugin to check the code on save and highlight errors).
  • A recent nodejs version isn’t yet available in the ubuntu archives for Precise. It wasn’t difficult, but I had to install Node 0.6.12 to my home directory and put its bin directory on my path before I could get started.

If you want to try it out or look at the code, just make sure NodeJS 0.6.12 is available on your path and do:

tmp$ bzr branch lp:~michael.nelson/open-goal-tracker/backbone-test/
Branched 42 revisions. 
tmp$ cd backbone-test/
backbone-test$ make
[snip]
backbone-test$ make test
...........
✔ 12 tests complete (47ms)
Written by Michael

March 8, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

