Something-driven development

Software development thoughts around Ubuntu, Python, Golang and other tools

Working in the cloud

with 3 comments

For a while now I’ve done all my development work and irc communication via SSH and byobu – I love the freedom of just grabbing my netbook (ie. switching computers) and heading to a cafe and picking up right where I left off (or even letting tests run while I walk).

The one pain-point was that I SSH’d into my own box at home – and if my home connection went (anything from a thunderstorm to a curious kid pulling a chord), I had to then work on my much slower netbook.

Now, after reading on an email thread that Aaron was doing something similar, I’m running a tiny cloud instance for my irc and development work, and documenting everything that I’m doing to get my dev environment just right – so that I can automate the setup (not really something for an ensemble formula – just a simple script).

That, and having all my music in the cloud for the past 6 months make switching computers and/or physical locations a non-obtrusive part of my work-day.

If anyone has small tips that make their own dev environment enjoyable, let me know!

Written by Michael

August 26, 2011 at 12:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is interesting. I’m tempted to try this out 🙂

    Nigel

    August 26, 2011 at 1:05 pm

  2. […] [1] Yes, irssi is not particularly useful as a juju service (as I don’t want multiple units, or relating it to other services etc.), but it suited my purposes for a simple experiment that also automates something I can use for working in the cloud. […]

  3. […] [1] Yes, irssi is not particularly useful as a juju service (as I don’t want multiple units, or relating it to other services etc.), but it suited my purposes for a simple experiment that also automates something I can use for working in the cloud. […]


Leave a comment