Something-driven development

Software development thoughts around Ubuntu, Python, Golang and other tools

A Kodi (XBMC) snap for the RaspberryPi?

leave a comment »

orange-matchboxI just received an Orange Matchbox today – a Raspberry Pi 2B with a PiGlow and Ubuntu-engraved casing – to try out Snappy Ubuntu.

As a first project, I want to see if it’s possible to get Kodi (formally XBMC) packaged as a snap. I’m not yet sure if this is possible, but the plan is to install Ubuntu on a separate microSD and setup deb2snap and see whether I can create a snap (minus certain dependencies). Obviously then install the snap on my snappy microSD and profit! (The devel’s in the details of course.)

I’m not sure that deb2snap will work with Ubuntu Trusty (the default image for RPi2), as it was recently announced that XMir will no longer be supported for anything less than Wily. We’ll see how it goes.

I already found and reported my first issue while testing snappy on a VM last week, which got fixed for todays stable release. Let the fun begin…

Written by Michael

June 11, 2015 at 9:14 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment